PACE signed certificate on granting Kyrgyzstan the status "Partner for Democracy"

Fecha de publicación: 
24 Jun 2014

Bishkek, June 24 / Kabar /. Ceremony of signing of the certificate on granting Kyrgyzstan the status "Partner for Democracy" is held on June 23 this year in the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE) in Strasbourg (France) in the presence of members of the Assembly. The press service of the Kyrgyz Parliament reports.

PACE President Anne Brasseur speaking at the signing ceremony congratulated Kyrgyzstan on obtaining this status, highlighting the uniqueness of the chosen path of development of the Kyrgyz Republic in the region. Anne Brasseur called to support Kyrgyzstan and wished success in development of parliamentary democracy. 

Speaker of the Jogorku Kenesh Jeenbekov in his speech said that the Kyrgyz side perceives this status as recognition and appreciation by the PACE as achievements of the Kyrgyz Republic in the development of parliamentary democracy.

"We are ready to adopt the best experiences of Europe and implement it based on customs and mentality of our multinational people. However, we are far from blind imitation of all manifestations of European development. Every action we will consider carefully, listening to the opinion of our society. We hope that PACE partners will support us," said Jeenbekov.

Focusing on measures taken aimed at the development of parliamentary democracy, elimination of corruption, Jeenbekov emphasized that there is still much to be done in promoting reforms in all spheres of public life, to achieve economic prosperity, the rule of law, the inviolability of human rights and freedoms. 

Recalling the upcoming parliamentary elections in Kyrgyzstan, which is held in 2015, Jeenbekov said that they will become a kind of test for the maturity of democratic institutions in Kyrgyzstan.

In conclusion, he reiterated the readiness of Kyrgyzstan to implement opportunities with the assistance of such reputable international organizations as the Council of Europe, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and the European Union.