Egypt concludes parliament elections; 100 new MPs elected

Ahram Online
Fecha de publicación: 
14 Dic 2020

Most of the 100 MPs elected during the round belong to the pro-government Mostaqbal Watan Party

Egypt's National Elections Authority (NEA) announced on Monday the final results of the last stage of run-offs for the second phase of the country's new parliament elections, which were held earlier this month.

According to an official statement released by the NEA, 100 new MPs were elected during the round, most of whom belong to the pro-government Mostaqbal Watan Party (The Future of a Homeland).

As many as 202 candidates vied for the 100 seats in Cairo, Qalioubiya, Daqahliyah, Menoufia, Gharbiya, Kafr El-Sheikh, Sharqiya, Damietta, Port Said, Ismailia, Suez, North Sinai and South Sinai.

Forty-two individual seats were secured during the first round of the parliament election’s second stage, alongside the 142 seats reserved for the party list system, which were easily won by the electoral list led by the Mostaqbal Watan Party, dubbed the National Coalition.

The 568-seat assembly was filled via the individual candidacy system and the closed party list system equally, as per the recent amendments to the elections law.

According to the NEA, the National Coalition secured the 284 seats reserved for party lists in the two-stage poll.

President Abdel-Fattah El-Sisi is set to appoint 28 deputies, at least half of whom should be women.

However, only one seat in Dayr Mawas constituency in Upper Egypt's Minya governorate is still up for grabs after the NEA suspended its elections upon a ruling issued from the Supreme Administrative Court, which brought an excluded candidate back to the competition. The date of this seat's election has not yet been determined.

Also, a by-election is expected to be held sooner to fill a vacant constituency in Daqahliyah governorate, whose deputy passed away in late November, shortly after he was announced as the seat winner during the first round of second stage's elections.