Official name: 
Republic of Yemen
Name in local language: 
الجمهوريّة اليمنية transliterated as al-Jumhuriya al-yamaniya
Form of government: 
Political system: 
Conflict situation
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: Unification of two Yemens - 22 May 1990
  • Date of constitution/reform: 16 May 1991, amended 29 September 1994 and 24 February 2001. Constitutional review process currently underway.
  • Form of state: Decentralized
  • Administrative divisions: 20 provinces + Sanaa capital
  • Official language(s): Arabic
  • Other spoken languages: Mehri, Soqotri and Bathari
  • Official religion: Islam (non-denominational)
  • Minorities: Linguistic: Mehri, Soqotri and Bathari. Religious: Sunni Islam (Shafí) 55%, Shia Islam (Ismaili and Zaydi, mainly Houthis) 42%, others (Jews, Christians, and Hindus) 3%
  • Dominant actor(s):Military-economic-tribal complex 
  • Elected institutions of government: Parliament, Presidency and local councils
  • Non-elected institutions of government: Consultative Council
  • Party system: Multi-party system (25 political parties)

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Abdel Rabbuh Mansur Hadi (GPC party), in exile since January 2015. Revolutionary government in Sana'a, led by Mohamed Ali al Houthi, since January 2015.
  • Head of government: Mohammed Basindawa (Opposition - independent), resigned in January 2015.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Abu Bakr al-Qirbi (GPC), resigned in January 2015.
  • Minister of Interior: Abdel Qader Qahtán (Islah party), resigned in January 2015.
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch: Yahya al-Rai (GPC), contested.
  • Composition legislative branch: Link to PDF
  • Head of the Judiciary:
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to PDF