Official name: 
Bosnia y Herzegovina
Name in local language: 
Босна и Херцеговина; Bosna i Hercegovina
Form of government: 
Political system: 
Parliamentary Democracy
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 5/04/1992
  • Date of constitution/reform: 1995, 2010
  • Form of state: Federal
  • Administrative divisions: The country is made up of two distinct entities as well as the city of Brcko. The former are: the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina FBIH (10 cantons, 74 municipalities) and the Republika Srpska (63 municipalities)
  • Official languages: Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian
  • Other spoken languages: -
  • Official religion: Bosnia and Herzegovina is a secular state
  • Minorities: Roma minority
  • Dominant actor(s): Members of the presidency
  • Directly elected institutions of government: At national level: the three-member Presidency and the two chambers of Parliament. At entity level: the Parliament of the FBIH, the presidency and National Assembly of Republika Srpska. At local level: local governments.
  • Indirectly elected  institutions of government: Presidency of FBIH
  • Party system: mult-party system

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Presidency of Bosnia-Herzegovina, three-person body representing the three ethnic communities, with one of them rotating every 8 months as Chairperson. Šefik Džaferović  (Bosnian side), Milorad Dodik  (Serb side),  Željko Komšić  (Croatian Side).
  • Head of government: Denis Zvizdić, since 2015.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Igor Crnadak.
  • Minister of Interior: Sredoje Novic
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch:Sefik Džaferović.
  • Composition legislative branch: Link to graph
  • Head of the Judiciary
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to Graph in PDF