Official name: 
Islamic Republic of Mauritania
Name in local language: 
الجمهورية الإسلامية الموريتانية
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 28 December 1960
  • Date of constitution/reform:  1991/1996, amended in 2012
  • Form of state: Unitary, under devolution or deconcentration process.
  • Administrative divisions:  12 wilayat (regions), 52 mugatat (provinces) and 1 capital district.
  • Official language(s): Arabic, and recognized as national languages: Arabic, Peul, Soninké and Wolof.
  • Other spoken languages:  French
  • Status of religion:  Islam (non denominational), official religion.
  • Minorities: Arab-Berbers form the majority, haratin (freed slaves and descendants) and Sub-Saharan ethnic groups are important minorities.
  • Dominant actor(s): Army
  • Elected institutions of government:  presidency, government, two chambers of Parliament and local authorities.
  • Non-elected  institutions of government: regional governors.
  • Party system:  semi-competititve and fragmented. There are at least two main parties, the UPR (Union for the Republic) and islamist Tawassoul.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Mohamed Ould Ghazouani, since August 2019, replacing Mohamed Ould Abdelazziz (2009-2019).
  • Head of government:  Béchir Sidiya, since August 2019.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Hamadi Ould Baba Ould Hamadi
  • Minister of Interior:  Mohamed Ould Boilil
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch: Messaoud Ould Bouljeir
  • Composition legislative branch: Link to PDF
  • Head of the Judiciary: Sghair Ould M'bareck (Constitutional Court)
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to PDF