Official name: 
The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Name in local language: 
اَلمَمْلَكَة اَلأُرْدُنِيَّة اَلهَاشِمِيَّة‎ transliterated as al-Mamlakah al-ʾUrdunniyyah al-Hāšimiyyah
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: The Emirate of Transjordan was created in 1921 as a British protectorate. Independence came in 1946 as the Hashemite Kingdom of Transjordan, and the country's name was changed in Kingdom of Jordan in 1951.
  • Date of constitution/reform: 1952, modified on several occasions
  • Form of state: Unitary
  • Administrative divisions: 12 governorates (muhafazah)
  • Official language(s): Arabic
  • Other spoken languages: English
  • Official religion: Islam
  • Minorities: Religious minorities include Christians, Druze & Shia Muslims. Ethnic minorities is a sensitive issue due to the presence of more Palestinians in Jordan, than the original Bedouins of Jordanian origin. There are small Circassian & Armenian ethnic minorities.
  • Dominant actor(s): Monarchy
  • Elected institutions of government: House of Representatives (Majlis al-Nuwaab), Mayors - of all cities except Amman
  • Non-elected institutions of government: House of Senate (Majlis al-Aayan), Governors of the 12 governorates, Mayor of Amman
  • Party system: Political parties were legalized in 1992 and multiple political parties exist. However, most are weak and disorganised and real multi-party politics is lacking in Jordan.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: King Abdullah II, since 7 February 1999
  • Head of government: Abdullah Ensour, prime minister since 11 October 2012
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Nasser Judeh
  • Minister of Interior: Salameh Hammad
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch: Atef Tarawneh (speaker of Parliament)
  • Composition of the legislative branch: link to PDF graph
  • Head of the Judiciary: Taher Hikmat (president of the Constitutional Court)
  • Schematic representation of the political system:  link to PDF graph