Official name: 
Tunisian Republic
Name in local language: 
الجمهورية التونسية transliterated in English as al-Jumhuriyatu at-Tunisiya
Form of government: 
Political system: 
Semipresidential Democracy
  • Founding date/ Date of independence:  1956
  • Date of constitution/last reform:  Adopted on January 26th 2014, replaces that of 1959 ammended many times.
  • Form of state: Unitary, although the new Constitution enables the election of Regional Councils entitled with administrative and financial powers.
  • Administrative divisions:  24 governorates
  • Official language(s):  Arabic
  • Other spoken languages:   French and Berber (small Southern areas)
  • Minorities:  Religious: Christians and Jews
  • Dominant actor(s):  trade union UGTT, islamist movement (Nahda), business and secular elites.
  • Elected institutions of government:  President,  Government and Assembly of People Representatives (Maylis al-nuwab al-sha'ab).
  • Non-elected  institutions of government:   regional governors and local authorities until 2016 elections.
  • Party system:  two blocks system: one rather uniform created around the Islamist Movement and a quite fragmented secular block, spreading from left wing to centre to right wing parties.

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Béji Caid Essebsi, winner in second round of presidential polls after defeating incumbent Moncef Marzouki.
  • Head of government:  Yossef Chahed, since 27th August 2016. Earlier: Habib Essid, since 6th February 2015
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Khemaes Jhinaoui, since 6th September 2017.
  • Minister of Interior: Lofti Brahem, since 6th September 2017.
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch:  Mohamed Ennaceur, replacing Mostafa Benjaafar.
  • Composition of legislative branch: Results of the elections to the first democratic Asssembly (2nd Republic), October 2014
  • Head of the Judiciary:  pending formation of the Constitutional Court.
  • Schematic representation of the political system: under construction