Official name: 
People's Democratic Republic of Algeria
Name in local language: 
الجمهورية الجزائرية الديمقراطية الشعبية transliterated as al-Jumhuriyatu al-jaza'iriya ad-dimuqratiya ash-sha'abiya
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 1962
  • Date of constitution/latest reform:  1996, revised in 2002, 2008 and most recently on 7th March 2016
  • Form of state: Centralised
  • Administrative divisions:  48 provinces or wilayas
  • Official language(s):  Arabic
  • Other spoken languages:  Tamazigh or Berber (deemed a national but not an official language) and French
  • Official Religion: Sunni Islam
  • Minorities:   Christian, Jewish and Ibadi (Muslim minority)
  • Dominant actor(s):  Army and Secret Services
  • Elected institutions of government:  Presidency, Bi-cameral parliament, Local and Provincial councils
  • Non-elected  institutions of government:  Provincial governors (walis)
  • Party system:  multi-party system, with 3 clear blocks: nationalists, islamists and leftist parties

Current authorities

  • Head of state:  Abdelaziz Bouteflika, since 1999, reelected on April 17th 2014 for a fourth term. He resigned on April 3rd 2019. On April 9th, Abdelkader Bensalah, chair of the Council of the Nation was dessignated as provisional president for a maximum period of 90 days.
  • Head of government: Noureddine Bedoui replaces Ahmed Ouyahia, as a result of February-March 2019 protests, who resigned on March 12th.
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Ramtane Lamamra, since March 2019, when he returned to the cabinet in charge of the new post of deputy prime minister.
  • Minister of Interior: Noureddine Bedoui, since 14 May 2015, until march 2019.
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch:  Mouad Bouchareb, since december 2018, when he succeded in ejecting former parliament president, Said Bouhadja (Popular National Assembly) and Abdelkader Bensalah (Council of the Nation)
  • Composition of the Legislative branchLink to graph
  • Head of the Judiciary:  Abdelaziz Bouteflika (president of the High Council of Magistrates) 
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to pdf diagram