Official name: 
Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Name in local language: 
اسلامی جمہوریۂ پاکستان transliterated as Islami Jumhuriya Pakistan
Form of government: 
Political system: 
  • Founding date/ Date of independence: 14 August 1947 (from United Kingdom)
  • Date of constitution/reform 1956/1963/1973 (as well as multiple amendments)
  • Form of state: Federal
  • Administrative divisions: 4 provinces (Punjab, Balochistan, Sindh and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa); other territories: Federal Administered Tribal Areas (FATA); Azad Kashmir; Gilgit-Baltistan. 
  • Official language(s): English (official), Urdu (national)
  • Other spoken languages: Other languages spoken: Pashtun, Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, Brahvi, Seraiki, among others.
  • Official religion: Confessional (Islam)
  • Minorities: Ethnic minorities: Brahuis, Mohajirs, Hazaras, Kalash; Linguistic: Indko, Brahvi, Burushashki, Kohistani, Balti (among other); Religious: Christians, Hindus, Sikhs, Ahmadis
  • Dominant actor(s): The military
  • Elected institutions of government: Presidency (indirect election); National Assembly (direct election); Provincial Assemblies (direct election) and Senate (indirect election)
  • Non-elected  institutions of government: None
  • Party system:Multi-party system

Current authorities

  • Head of state: Arif Alvi, since September 2018, replaced  former president Mamnoon Hussain.
  • Head of government: Imran Khan, since August 2018
  • Minister of Foreign Affairs: Hussain Haroon
  • Minister of Interior: Ahsan Iqbal 
  • Head(s) of Legislative Branch:  Asad Qaiser
  • Composition legislative branch:  Link to PDF
  • Head of the Judiciary: Mian Saqib Nisar
  • Schematic representation of the political system: Link to PDF