Voting registration deadline for Sharjah elections extended

The National
Publication date: 
Dec 15 2015

SHARJAH // Registration has been extended for people wanting to vote in the Sharjah Consultative Council elections

The higher committee of the SCC has extended registration to December 19, from December 17, following requests from citizens.

Fourteen registration centres — six in Sharjah City and one each at Al Dhaid, Khorfakkan, Kalba, Dibba, Hamriya, Maliha, Madam and Al Batayeh- are open for Emiratis from 8am to 6pm.

In June, Sharjah’s ruler, Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed, announced that half of the 42-seat council would be elected by citizens and the rest appointed.

The council, established in 1999, ended its current term in June. Its members are responsible for implementing proposals for all matters referred to it by the emirate’s ruler.