Bosnia Serb PM Unveils New Ministerial Team

Balkan Insight
Publication date: 
Mar 12 2013

The parliament of Republika Srpska, the mainly Serb entity of Bosnia, on March 12 heard the names of six new ministers proposed by the entity's new Prime Minister, Zeljka Cvijanovic.

Cvijanovic said on Tuesday she would lead her new ministerial team into action against unemployment, and on behalf of fiscal and social stability and the European path.

“The government will not close its eyes to corruption and crime,” she added, describing this as one of the biggest challenges facing her new cabinet.

Since Aleksandar Dzombic resigned as Prime Minister on February 27, reportedly after losing support from the ruling Alliance of Independent Social Democrats, SNSD, the party leader, Milorad Dodik, has given Cvijanovic a mandate to form a new government.

The SNSD's coalition partners in the Republika Srpska government are the Socialist Party, SP, and the Democratic People's Alliance, DNS, which have both proposed the same ministers that they had before.

A total of six other ministers have been replaced by party colleagues from the SNSD - besides Cvijanovic as Prime Minister.

Newcomers in the cabinet are Radislav Jovicic, as Interior Minister, Goran Zlatkovic, in charge of Justice, Maida Ibrisagic Hrstic, at Trade and Tourism, Stevo Mirajnic at Agriculture, Goran Mutapdzija at Culture while Igor Vidovic is Regional Cooperation and Economic Relations Minister.

Meanwhile, Petar Djokic will remain as Labour Minister, Zeljko Kovacevic will stay at Energy and Industry, Zoran Tegeltija as Finance Minister, Lejla Rasic, in charge of Government and Local Government, Nedeljko Cubrilovic at Trade, Srebrenka Golic at Town Planning, Davor Cordas at Refugees, Slobodan Stanic at Health, Jasmin Komic at Science and Nada Tesanovic at Sports.


Elvira M. Jukic